19th ACM Symposium on Computational Geometry

June 8-10, 2003 - San Diego, USA
In conjunction with FCRC 2003
Sponsored by ACM SIGACT and SIGGRAPH

Call for Videos and Multimedia

Videos are sought for the 12th Annual Video Review of Computational Geometry. This video review showcases the use of visualization in computational geometry for exposition and education, as an interface and a debugging tool in software development, and for the visual exploration of geometry in research. Algorithm animations, visual explanations of structural theorems, descriptions of applications of computational geometry, and demonstrations of software systems are all appropriate. Videos that accompany papers submitted to the technical program committee are encouraged.

This year the video review is experimenting with interpreting "video" broadly as any form of multimedia that can be rendered visually over time. In addition to the standard notion of videos (moving picture and sound), we allow submissions of PowerPoint animations, Java applets, and limited forms of other computed programs that generate video. These programs must have a "demo mode" that requires no interaction (after e.g. pressing a "demo" button) and demonstrates the program automatically. Audio can be generated by the program itself (e.g., PowerPoint animations can have a voice-over), or specified by a separate track. We prefer that such submissions are accompanied by standard videos, but when such preparation is difficult for the authors, the video rendering will be prepared by the video committee. All of these nonstandard arrangements must be coordinated with the video chair at least two weeks prior to submission.

Accepted videos will be collected onto a DVD and distributed to attendees of the conference. The conference proceedings will include a submitted one- or two-page textual description of each video. In addition, authors will have the opportunity to give short presentations about accepted videos, how they were made, and brief background. These presentations will be interleaved with the showing of the videos during a video review session at the conference.

Important Dates

Fri, February 7, 2003 Video submissions due
Fri, February 21, 2003 Notification of acceptance or rejection of videos
Tue, March 25, 2003 Final video abstracts due
Fri, April 4, 2003 Final versions of videos due
June 8-10, 2003 Symposium

Video Submission

Submissions are due by February 7, 2003. We strongly encourage electronic submission of videos. Electronic submissions should be in MPEG-2 format, although other arrangements can be made with the video chair. Specific requirements on encoding, instructions for preparing submissions, and methods of submission are being detailed on the webpage:


Arrangements for nonelectronic submissions must be made at least two weeks prior to the deadline with the video chair.

Each submission must be playable in at most eight minutes, and is preferred to be three to five minutes long. The submission must be accompanied by a one- or two-page description of the material shown in the video, and where applicable, the techniques used in the implementation. References to additional material describing the contents of the videos, such as accompanying papers, are encouraged. Please format the descriptions following the guidelines for ACM proceedings. The descriptions should be submitted electronically by e-mailing a PostScript or PDF file to the video chair. If electronic submission is impossible, authors should mail seven hardcopies of the description to the video chair:

Erik Demaine
MIT Laboratory for Computer Science
200 Technology Square
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139
Phone: (+1) 617-253-6871
Fax: (+1) 617-253-0415


Authors will be notified of acceptance or rejection, and given reviewers' comments by February 21, 2003. For each accepted video, the final version of the textual description is due by March 15, 2003 for inclusion in the proceedings. Final versions of accepted videos are due by April 4, 2003.

Video Program Committee

Erik Demaine, chair (MIT)
Fredo Durand (MIT)
Steven Gortler (Harvard University)
Piotr Indyk (MIT)
Diane Souvaine (Tufts University)
Seth Teller (MIT)
Shang-Hua Teng (Boston University)

19th ACM Symposium on Computational Geometry 2002